East Rose Holiday Cottages, Bodmin Moor, Cornwall
7 luxury self catering holiday cottages in Cornwall in a unique hamlet on Bodmin Moor

7 self catering holiday cottages

St Breward, Bodmin, Cornwall PL30 4NL

Call us on 01208 850674

Customer Reviews

   

Testimonials

We would love to hear about your stay at East Rose.  Please find us on Trip Advisor via the following links and add your review.  We will add any Trip Advisor review to our website as well.   

Moor Cottage Trip Advisor Review Link

Shippen Cottage Trip Advisor Review Link

Rose Cottage Trip Advisor Review Link

Stable Cottage Trip Advisor Review Link

Mowhay Cottage Trip Advisor Review Link

Tamarisk Cottage Trip Advisor Review Link

Barn Cottage Trip Advisor Review Link


Below are testimonials from guests who have stayed at East Rose over recent years.  To include yours, please email us:


2021 Reviews

Rose - for a stay in August 2021
“Absolutely fantastic stay”
My wife and I and Pax the dog have just returned from Rose Cottage. We had a fantastic time, the location was perfect with both the North and South Coasts within easy reach. Mathew and Becky made our stay all the more comfortable . Mathew on his lawnmower and Becky walking their kids on the nature trail made for a chilled week away The grounds are kept to a very high standard and they are both willing to have a catch up if you see them. I would recommend spending a well earned rest here it’s so quiet and peaceful. The cottage itself was very comfortable and had everything we needed during our stay. Thank you both we will be back.

Stable - for a stay in August 2021
The Stable at East Rose was a lovely small property perfect for our family of 3 (2 adults and 1 child). Whilst some of the fittings and furnishings were slightly dated, everything worked and was clean and tidy. The site itself is lovely, with beautiful surroundings and lakes to explore. We would definitely book again.

Moor - for a stay in August 2021
Enjoyed our stay even though weather was not too good, The cottage was comfy and well equipped. Bit of a walk from cottage to car park, which was unfortunate as the rain poured while loading up car when leaving. ( just bad luck). Cottage location is quite remote but didnt bother us. Being in centre of Bodmin moor, it was handy for north or south coast. Lovely lakes for fishing and wildlife.

Barn - for a stay in August 2021
Just returned from our first visit to East Rose and have already rebooked for next year. Barn was spotless and provided us with fantastic accommodation in a stunning location. Kids enjoyed catching lots of small roach in the lakes and also recommend pony trekking at the nearby stables. Both coasts of Cornwall easily reached by car from here and plenty of great beaches to visit. Becky Matthew and family provide a first class Holiday destination.

Tamarisk - for a stay in August 2021
“Gorgeous Cottage”
Had another marvellous holiday here. We've been several times in 15 years and stayed in most of the cottages at different times! Always immaculate and the best stocked self catering accommodation I've ever stayed in. The owners and their family are a delight and nothing too much trouble AND they bake fresh scones and cakes! The views are gorgeous and of course Bodmin is an excellent place to visit with great access to lots of activities. We always love our stays there and highly recommend! Well actually we don't.....I want lots of availability for when we want to stay!!!!!!

Moor - for a stay in August 2021
“Snug cottage in a beautiful setting”
I have been visiting East Rose for almost a decade, and our stay in Moor Cottage this year was no disappointment. All of the cottages are gorgeous and incredibly cosy, with everything you need for a week's stay or longer (although Moor is our favourite!). The lakes are beautiful, great for a stroll or a picnic, and the surrounding moorland is equally lovely. Matthew and Becky were kind, helpful, and efficient as always. I cannot recommend East Rose enough, and can't wait for our inevitable next visit!

Shippen - for a stay in August 2021
Nice & clean cottage, lovely remote location yet central, old inn at st Breward well worth the visit.

Mowhay - for a stay in July 2021
“Lovely retreat in a beautiful quiet idyllic surroundings”
The cottage is situated in the Bodmin moors near a stream with plenty of lovely picnic spots and has own lakes for fishing ; we didn't fish but lovely to walk around 1st thing in the morning or last thing in evening. Ideal for touring around - Bodmin jail, Eden Project, Port Isaac (Doc Martin and Fisherman's friend filmed there) St Ives , Padstow (Stein's place) . The owners are friendly and helpful.

Mowhay - for a stay in July 2021

“Beautiful and Peaceful”
We absolutely loved our stay. The grounds were immaculately kept and the cottage was spotlessly clean, spacious and had everything we needed. The area is lovely and we always enjoyed coming back to the different landscape of the Bodmin moor after a day at the stunning Cornish coast. I would definitely recommend a stay and would love to visit again in future. We didn't want to leave!

Shippen - for a stay in July 2021
“Home from home”
The property was exactly as advertised. Spotlessly clean, light and airy. Everything we needed and more. The property location was natural and beautiful. Lots of space to wander and enjoy. Many benches located around the grounds for relaxing and enjoying the peacefulness and beauty too. The owners were very helpful and nothing was any trouble. We sampled and appreciated the home made foods and treats and would highly recommend them. We would definitely recommend and stay again in the future.

Tamarisk - for a stay in July 2021
We had a lovely week at Tamarisk. The location is beautiful and a perfect base to explore the north Cornish coast.

Tamarisk - for a stay in July 2021
A really beautiful spot - immaculately kept grounds and everything spotlessly clean. Kitchen knives were desperately blunt and could do with a new frying pan, but everything else was perfect. A bit of a drive to get anywhere, but well worth it - and can't beat it for getting away from it all! Would definitely stay here again.

Rose - for a stay in July 2021
This is a great little cottage. The owners are lovely and make you feel relaxed and at home. The home made cooking is superb. With beautiful sitting out areas and a relaxing areas for a stroll this is just great. The only reason for a lower score on local amenities is not a criticism, you can’t expect lots of shops on Bodmin Moor. This is one of the many reasons to stay at Rose Cottage.

Moor - for a stay in July 2021
Lovely and peaceful location. Cottage had everything you require. Some of the roads away from the cottage are challenging but that is to be expected given the location!! Grounds are kept perfectly mown and the lakes were lovely for an evening stroll around with the dogs. Would highly recommend if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the outside world. The far end of the camel trail is only a few minutes from the cottage and made for a good day out. Will be going back again as soon as we can😁

Moor - for a stay in July 2021
Great location for walkers with hiking routes right from the door. Made very welcome by the East Rose team.

Moor - for a stay in July 2021
Brilliant place to stay couldn’t of asked for a better location, beach around 30mins away but we didn’t mind that as the views from the cottage were outstanding.They also offer food which was lovely. It’s fully equipped in the whole cottage. However there was no fan and it was very hot (not that it’s normally a problem in England lol). And if I’m being extremely picky it would’ve been nice to have full length mirror in the bedroom or hallway to check my outfit before going out. Overall was outstanding.

Mowhay - for a stay in June 2021
“Peaceful, comfortable and in a delightful spot”.
Booked Mowhay Cottage for the disabled access and fantastic views from the windows after a stay last year in another. Everything you need for a quiet self-isolated getaway, set on the beautiful moor. Plenty of picnic tables & BBQ area, to dine outdoors and relax when admiring the views and watching the birds around the lakes, (17 species seen in the week). Easy cycling from the cottage and a well stocked local store and pub dining just a short drive/walk away. Will make at least one regular booking each year as in this location it can only remain unspoilt.

Moor - for a stay in June 2021
 5* Great

Tamarisk - for a stay in June 2021
“Relaxing and comfortable”
First time at Tamarisk but second time at East Rose. Very comfortable and great location for walking dogs. Close to the North Cornish coast and only circa an hour from some of our favourite places on the South Cornish coast. Good choice of pubs/restaurants within 20 minutes. We had a lovely time and will be back!

Barn - for a stay in June 2021
Great location with amazing views over countryside and lakes. Grounds so well looked after and excellent base for exploring Cornwall. Very well run.

Rose - for a stay in June 2021
“Great location and good value for money”
Ideal location for people with well behaved dogs, who enjoy countryside and coastal walks. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and if asked, produce very nice homemade pasties and scones. The accommodation is basic but meets most essential needs. When you consider the rates, it represents good value for money. The site is well maintained and there are some lovely ponds, where you can take an early morning, or late evening stroll. Plenty of trestle tables too, for outside picnics or a glass of wine. In May / June you might even hear a cuckoo. We had stayed here many years ago and fond memories of that stay, brought us back again. One suggestion I would make is perhaps a dog cleaning station could be set up? By this, I simply mean an outside tap somewhere, with a short length of hose so that muddy paws can be washed before taking dogs into the accommodation. This would help keep everything nice and clean.

Tamarisk - for a stay in June 2021
“Quiet Break”
Located on the edge of Bodmin Moor with easy access to local and coastal points of interest. This is an ideal location for walkers and person that just wish to get away from the crowds and stay in a very well maintained and peaceful cottage. The cottage was immaculate and well equipped with everything necessary for your stay. We found the local shop a short drive away and managed to get everything we needed. The grounds of the property were exceptional and the walks round the lakes were easy to follow. The dog loved his stay. We would love to go back again.

Stable - for a stay in June 2021
“Perfect for a restful holiday”
This is the third time we've stayed at East Rose, we love the cottage and the views, the surrounding countryside, and the coast within easy reach. The cottage is beautifully kept and has everything you need. Becky's scones and cakes are wonderful! The seating could be a bit more comfortable but otherwise it's cosy and lovely.


** [03.07.21 COMMENT FROM OWNER REGARDING LOUNGE SEATING - following the comment about the seating in the lounge, we have replaced the soft fabric seating with a much more comfortable leather sofa and leather tub chair/arm chair.]**

Rose - for a stay in June 2021
“Beautiful area with views”
The cottage is in a lovely area with views over Bodmin moor it is well situated for touring all the different places in the area, Becky and Mathew are very welcoming and the home cooked goods are very good, the cottage was clean and tidy but the water pressure in the bathroom was very poor which made having a shower difficult, this did not distract from us enjoying our stay, would most certainly go back.

** [06.07.21 COMMENT FROM OWNER REGARDING WATER PRESSURE IN BATHROOM - There is a power cord next to the shower which if in the 'off' position impacts the pressure of water.  We believe it to be the case that the cord was put into the 'off' position which left a lower pressure for the guests when showering.  We are going to investigate at the next changeover, but no guests before or after this comment, or our housekeepers have reported a drop in water pressure.The cord is always left in the 'on' posiiton for a guests arrival.] **

Shippen - for a stay in June 2021
Stayed here on a few occasions, lovely place and owners. Perfect location. Will of course be back to visit


Barn - for a stay in May 2021
Absolutely perfect. Highly recommend. We've been here before a number of times and keep coming back.

Shippen  - for a stay in May 2021
“Wonderful!”
We loved it. Beautiful area, peaceful and tranquil. Enjoyed very much the lakes and the walk around them. Easy access to the moor and also close to the coast and it’s many attractions. The cottage was very clean and comfortable. Excellent break, we will hope to return.

Shippen - for a stay in May 2021
We have had such a lovely time staying with you, and so envy the beautiful surroundings, and the easy access to the coast that you have here.  We felt at home and cosy, and our dog Toffee settled in very quickly!  So a big thank you and we’ll hope to return for another visit one day.

Shippen - for a stay in May 2021
“Wonderful!!”
We loved our cottage. It was very clean and cosy, and we felt at home straight away. East Rose is set in such lovely surroundings, with easy access to the moor, and also to the coast. We were well looked after, and enjoyed a beautiful cream tea on our arrival, thanks to our hosts, such lovely people. We will certainly hope to return.

Rose - for a stay in May 2021
“An oasis on top of the moor”
We stayed in Rose Cottage which has spectacular views of the moor and surrounding area. The cottage itself had everything we needed and was very warm and cosy especially at night when the rain came in across the moor. East Rose is an amazing place, very peaceful and in a beautiful location with panoramic views, the grounds are beautifully laid out and we particularly liked the lakes and nature trails which are a credit to Matt and Becky’s hard work. The farm is very dog friendly and our dog had a great time. East Rose is a perfect base for seeing North Cornwall with the beaches and towns only a short drive away but far away enough from the maddening crowd, so the best of both worlds. St Breward is the nearest village only 5 minutes away, and has a shop and a good pub. Matthew , Becky and family were very welcoming and we loved it so much we have booked to go back next year.

Rose - for a stay in May 2021
“Excellent value for money”
Brilliant setting. Near both Cornwall coast yet nestled in a beautiful remote spot on the moors. Ideal base for geocaching. If you want a very quiet, non commercial break away in the most tranquil setting but easy drive to all of Cornwall, this is it! Delightful family run cottages, basic but really comfy. Dog and child friendly with lovely walks around lakes to roam and explore. We will be back.

Shippen  - for a stay in May 2021
“Wonderful!”
We loved it. Beautiful area, peaceful and tranquil. Enjoyed very much the lakes and the walk around them. Easy access to the moor and also close to the coast and it’s many attractions. The cottage was very clean and comfortable. Excellent break, we will hope to return.

Moor - for a stay in April 2021
“Nice short stay”
Property was just as described and well equipped. Would definitely stay again if in that area.

Shippen - for a stay in April 2021
“Perfect stay”
A beautiful, peaceful location with with stunning surroundings . From the moment that we arrived at East Rose and walked into Shippen, we were a taken back. It was so clean and well equipped. A Beautiful large wet room with a lovely hot shower was inviting after a day exploring the beautiful Cornwall. A little back garden with seating was perfect to relax and enjoy the tranquility. The family that run the complex are delightful. We have rebooked another 3 visits over the next 12 months and really cannot wait for the 2 of us plus my little dogs to return. Thank you

Tamarisk  - for a stay in April 2021
“Wonderful holiday”
We recently stayed in Tamarisk cottage at East Rose cottages. The cottage has everything you need for the perfect holiday! Even a lovely cream tea for when you arrive! Everywhere is very clean and comfortable. The views outside are amazing and you can go fishing or just have a relaxing walk round the lakes admiring the wildlife whilst enjoying the peace and quiet. There is a lovely pub in the local village and a shop for all your essentials. The only traffic you come across are the cows, sheep and ponies that wander all over the Moors! It's just perfect! Also, there are lots of places to visit and some amazing beaches not far away from East cottages! We definitely plan to return, can't wait! Thank you so much for a lovely stay.

Moor - for a stay in April 2021
“Cosy, comfortable cottage in a unique location”
We loved our stay in Moor Cottage at East Rose. The cottage was well equipped and extremely cosy in a stunning location with views out onto Bodmin Moor. Becky and Matthew made us extremely welcome including a delicious cream tea on arrival to help us settle in. Loved the grounds around the cottages - the onsite lakes were great to explore with surprise picnic locations dotted around. Ideally located to explore Cornwall, we'd strongly recommend a stay here. Looking forward to returning soon and thanks for a great holiday!

Rose - for a stay in April 2021
“Beautiful location”
An excellent week at Rose Cottage. I would definitely stay again.

Moor - for a stay in April 2021
“Excellent location, great accommodation”
Me and my daughter, we've been very pleased to stay for one week in Moor Cottage at East Rose. Lovely family the owners, very nice accommodation, clean and spacious. Too cold during the nights though, but an extra electric radiator did a good job to warm us up. We recommand East Rose with all our heart. I bet it's fantastic there during the summer.Thank you Matthew and Becky!

2020 Reviews

October 2020 - Tamarisk
Thank you for the holiday and it was great to see you all again and the pies and cake were great hope rest of year is good for you.Thank you

October 2020 - Moor
We had a wonderful week at East Rose... Everything was perfect…

October 2020 - Barn
Thank you again for such a friendly welcome and to Edward for sharing his artwork. We look forward to seeing his progress next year. East Rose  is always a peaceful and relaxing holiday and particularly this year we felt the the virus problems were far away.
 Thank you again

September 2020 - Barn
“Amazing and very dog friendly”
We have stayed at fantastic East Rose several times now and each time the views and superb surroundings seem to be even more stunning than the last. We love the peace and tranquility, the wildlife and the walks. We stayed in Barn, which is a very spacious first class accommodation; spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable with excellent facilities. Great value for money and dog friendly. Matthew, Becky, Edward and William are terrific hosts, so kind and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Becky’s lovely cream tea on arrival is a great start to the holiday. We also sampled the homemade Cornish Pasties this time....delicious! Thank you all again for a wonderful stay, we are very much looking forward to another one in the near future.

September 2020 - Stable
“Comfy cottage in beautiful isolation”
Stayed as part of a watercolour painting holiday group. Able to distance with lots of lovely subjects within walking distance of our comfy cottage. Most of us self-catered, but a good local shop and Becky's homemade pasties etc. on tap if ordered the day before. Re-booked for next year to ensure a place during the new "normal" type of social distancing holiday. Very narrow lanes so I don't advise driving a decent car far once settled, but walking and cycling around is ideal.

September 2020 - Rose
“Comfortable, well equipped cottage for two”
Beautiful setting on Bodmin Moor with friendly hosts and well implemented Covid restrictions. Comfortable well equipped cottage for two, with home cooked scones, jam and cream on arrival. Outside seating overlooking well maintained fishing lakes with panoramic views. An added bonus of delicious home cooked food available to order. A river and bridge just a five minute walk away with access to a small beach ideal for paddling. We used the nearby shop for provisions which we were able to order in advance. It was a thoroughly relaxing break, especially in the current Covid situation. Thoroughly recommend.

September 2020 - Shippen
“2 weeks of bliss”
Second stay here at Shippen, such a fantastic cottage, fully equipped kitchen.perfect wet room which made our stay so much more easier.The bed was so comfortable too, a few little quirks but nothing bad..low water pressure so don't dawdle in the shower😅Internet was a bit of hit and miss but again not actually important, was good to be off the radar and actually relax. Surrounding moors abundant with cattle and the ponies.Matt & ,Becky are excellent hosts always on hand to help and I have to say you haven't lived until you try some of Becky's home made treats, and of course it's a great place to fish!!🐟

September 2020 - Stable
Thank you for a wonderful holiday in your cottage

September 2020 - Mowhay
Thank you for another wonderfully relaxing week at East Rose.  Mowhay was extremely comfortable, just like the other East Rose cottages have been.  We can tell how hard you work to make everything so easy for your guests, especially during these testing times.   We’ve raved about how much we enjoy staying with you and have passed on your details to family and friends (reluctantly, because we don’t want to share!).  We hope to be back next year.

September 2020 - Mowhay
“Perfect location to relax, unwind and get out into nature”
East Rose is a gem. We have stayed several times before, in all seasons, and will keep coming back. The owners are friendly and take trouble to ensure that your stay is hassle free. The welcome plate of homemade scones with jam and clotted cream are delicious! Mowhay cottage is a spacious cottage for 4 people and has been designed with guests with mobility issues in mind. Located a stone's throw from the Disabled Car Park with well-maintained level paths from the cottage to the picnic benches on the lawns which overlook the lakes and moors. We hope to be back soon.

August 2020 - Moor
This was a lovely place to stay and the owners Mathew and Becky were very welcoming and friendly and produced some lovely home baking for you to purchase at very reasonable prices.

August 2020 - Tamarisk
“My holiday was awesome”
A wonderful property set in the beautiful breath taking landscape, you could not ask for a better place to stay. This was our 1st visit to Cornwall and every detail has been considered in the lay out and facilities to make for a relaxing enjoyable holiday. A Nice welcome with home made food on arrival. The grounds offer plenty of space for wandering and contribute to the peace and tranquility of the location. My daughter age 11 had the space to run around and the ability to be so close to the sheep each morning. The natural trail and walk around the lakes were so refreshing. East Rose is ideally located to other popular areas, making the perfect base for a family holiday. The local pub makes the most wonderful meal and is very welcoming, which is great for an evening out. The owners are very welcoming and friendly and make you feel relax. Thank you in creating the perfect holiday cottage, can't wait to return next year to recharge our batteries.

August 2020 - Mowhay
“Can’t wait to return”
We have had a fantastic weeks holiday at East Rose. My eldest daughter didn’t want to come home! The cottage is in a beautiful setting with views out to the moor. My two girls loved waking up and spotting sheep and ponies out of the window everyday. Great walks on your doorstop and our dog loved his walk to Delphi bridge everyday for his morning dip! The cottage is very clean, comfortable and is perfect for families equipped with everything you need. The old Inn does fab food and is well worth a visit (be sure to book as it’s very popular) and also St.Breward stores is great for picking up a few essentials. The coast is very accessible from here and exploring the rest of Cornwall. Matthew and Becky are great hosts & very helpful if you need anything. We’ve already booked for next year and can’t wait!

August 2020 - Moor
We really enjoyed staying at this cottage it was really homely and had some beautiful views.The owners Mathew and Becky were really friendly and helpful and also offer some lovely homemade goodies for you to purchase at a very reasonable price. We found the property central to most places we wanted to visit so was ideal for us. The cottage was very clean and well maintained and the 5 lakes within the grounds were a pleasant walk for the dogs. We would definitely return.

August 2020 - Stable
Thank you for a great week.  We love it here.  See you next year!

August 2020 - Rose
Fantastic location with excellent hosts. Could not be better.  Everything you need in the house and Matthew & Becky very helpful.

August 2020 - Barn
“Fantastic stay, beautiful location and great hosts”
We had a fantastic weeks stay with 2 small children, the barn was brilliant and well equipped. The grounds are well kept and lots of walks capable. The Becky and Matthew were brilliant and even helped me charge my electric car when I was struggling to get to charge points, nothing was too much hassle and were seen regularly around. Lovely touch was the cream tea on arrival and the barn was very clean. The location is very remote but local village with a shop and a fantastic pub called ship in That does fantastic food. Overall it’s a good location if you plan to visit around Cornwall as it’s centrally located to most places. Highly recommend and would love to return at some point. Thank you for a pleasant stay and shame about the weather but you can’t control that :-)

August 2020 - Moor
“Fabulous Stay”
We had a lovely 7night stay in Moor cottage great facilities including hairdryer, constant hot water, heated towel rail and storage heaters; should you need them. Surroundings are beautiful, lovely walk around the lakes where you could also sit and relax with a picnic. Great views across the moors with horses and sheep roaming. There are a couple of pubs in driving distance and a shop. We took our e-bikes with us and joined the Camel trail nearby and cycled to Padstow for lunch. We also cycled around the immediate moors....so peaceful. We visit Cornwall frequently and usually stay coastal but the moors did not disappoint and were a great location for us to explore our usual haunts and discover new places. We felt very COVID safe with measures in place - none of which ever hindered us. We would definitely recommend staying here.

August 2020 - Stable
“Beautiful cottage”
East Rose Cottages are set in the most picturesque of settings. We cannot stress how much we loved our stay here. Me, my husband, daughter and dog. The cottage has all you can want, it is clean and comfortable and very cute. The local area is amazing and the lakes and grounds are gorgeous. There is a local pub a short drive away which do the best meals. We will definitely be returning here and hope to get at least one week a year in.

August 2020 - Moor
“Lovely surroundings”
We were pleasantly surprised by the surroundings, we did a lovely walk around the lakes on our arrival. Clean accommodation, plenty of hot water, heated towel rail and storage heaters should you need them. Would definitely recommend and consider staying again.

August 2020 - Moor
Absolutely brilliant place to stay. The owners are fantastic, the cottage was clean and had everything that you needed. Will be going again

August 2020 - Mowhay
We have been visiting East Rose for several years now. Mowhay is our favourite and the area never disappoints. Ideal for walking, wildlife and fishing. Centrally located - you can get to both north and south coasts easily. Matthew and Becky are always friendly and welcoming. Looking forward to next year already.

August 2020 - Moor
“Fab and friendly place”
Situated on the moor with great views and wildlife. Good walks on the moor or round the lakes at East Rose. With easy reach to local attractions along the winding roads, which are narrow but you soon get used to them. Becky and Matthew are so friendly and are always there if you need them. Cream tea on arrival was delicious, and Moor Cottage was very homely with everything in there that you would ever need. Amazing place will be visiting again with more of my family.

August 2020
Peaceful, beautiful, lovely walks around the pools.  Would recommend for sure!


August 2020 - Rose
“Lived up to expectation with a few reservations”
Ideally located as previously mentioned but you need to be aware that the majority of the local roads are mainly single track with occasional passing points so not ideal if you are a nervous/inexperienced driver. The hosts are a lovely family and the cottage is very cosy and comfortable with the surrounding grounds maintained to a good standard. However there are a few things that could be improved in the cottage:- 1. The immersion heater in the unit next to the bed is very noisy when it is on during the night and results in disturbed sleep. 2. The hot water is very hot and could be a result of the lack of thermostat on the heater or too high a temperature setting, which could be a scalding risk to younger children or older guests. 3. For some reason the flow from the bathroom washbasin cold tap is barely more than a trickle and doesn’t help with the hot water issue. 4. In comparison to present day standards the fittings & furniture are looking tired and the cottage could benefit from some modernisation. Also be aware that mobile phone reception is none existent in the buildings and is only achieved outside near the entrance area.

July 2020 - Rose
“Quiet and relaxing”
We were met on arrival by the owner and Cream tea, just what was needed after a long drive. Social Distancing and covid routes adhered too. Although we didn't need them we felt the owners were available if required and regular saw the family going about there every day lives. Stunning location, step out of the property boundary and your on the Moor, so if you wanted to wondered and wear your dog out then, then the car could stay in the car park (which has plenty of room). Within the boundary and around the lakes there seemed to be a picnic table or a bench tucked into little nooks and crannies giving plenty of options for a relaxing peaceful day. With it being in a central location, you could have a day out just about anywhere in Cornwall for no more than 30-40 minutes drive. The cottage was clean and tidy and had everything we needed plus some. We found it to be plenty big enough for the 2 of us and the 2 cocker spaniels. With picnic benches on the grass just outside , the option for eating outside or having a bar-b-Que (built into the wall) is there if you want it. All in All a very relaxing 2 weeks was had, with lots of walking and exploring. We will stay again and have already recommend it to friends.

July 2020 - Barn
Very nice, well kept and clean.

July 2020 - Mowhay
“Fantastic, if you want to get away, relax, re-charge the batteries”.
Like walking, your on the moors. Like the beach, half hour away, Places of interest float your boat, too many to mention, got dogs, no problem. Beautiful location, great hosts, walking, fishing or just chill with a drink then get down to East Rose for a holiday to remember.

July 2020 - Rose
Many thanks, excellent as usual!! Can't wait to be back next year.

July 2020 - Moor
Have Stayed in Moor cottage twice we felt very welcomed by Matthew and Becky we couldn't have wanted for anything more from the accommodation. The cottage and grounds are beautiful. It is ideal for site seeing and most pubs and cafes welcome well behaved dogs it's a place we're we feel welcome with our dog and she loved walking round the lakes there.

July 2020 - Moor
Stayed at East Rose for a week, high on Bodmin Moor the views were stunning, lovely location to escape it all! We stayed in Moor Cottage, had everything we needed, very cozy! Grounds were kept spotless! Great location to reach all popular destinations and beaches, roads are small and windy but you get used to them. We purchased some pasties and cake from the “treats menu” made by the hosts which was lovely and the complimentary cream tea on arrival was lovely. Hosts were very nice and made to feel welcome, we will certainly return.


2019 Reviews

October 2019 - Rose
"Fantastic place to stay, even in October"
Lovely cosy cottage. Super comfy bed. Hosts went out their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Cottage is at a perfect location. In between north and south coast, and very close to all the major attractions, Eden Project, Tintagil. We were visiting in Mid October, it was a great time to visit Cornwall. No crowds or traffic. On our visit to Looe we were the only one on the beach! Perfect.


October 2019 - Tamarisk
Perfect location for family reunion. Friendly, helpful and excellent food.
Thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting peace and quiet, yet there is plenty of interesting places to visit.

October 2019 - Shippen
"Wonderful location; one or two quirks"
Stayed here for 5 days and loved it - wonderful location, both in terms of its immediate surroundings which are quiet and peaceful, but also in terms of visiting nearby places. Friendly hosts too. I had to do a bit of work here whilst I was staying (boo) and was relieved the broadband here was really quick, although there's no phone reception but that wasn't an issue for me. I also saw the world's biggest slug* here, which was an unexpected bonus. If I had a couple of niggles it'd be that bathroom towels weren't provided (you can rent them for a fiver though) and little things like soap or sugar weren't also provided. I mean, these are in no way things that spoilt my stay but were just a little unexpected. Oh well, washing up liquid for soap never did anyone any harm! At least I don't think it did. Would've liked a little curtain over the small entrance window in the door to block views (i.e. I would've liked to have spent more time walking around in my pants, but hey ho) but again that wasn't a massive issue. Despite these couple of quibbles, I loved staying here and would definitely stay again. I'll bring some soap and sugar next time though. *may not literally have been the world's biggest slug. It was massive though.

October 2019 - Stable
Wir können die Cottages wirklich sehr empfehlen. Es gab einen sehr netten Empfang mit Scones und Tea im eigenen Cottage. Die Besitzer sind sehr nett. Die Gegend ist traumhaft. Es gibt gute Wandermöglichkeiten und die eigenen Seen der Anlage sind auch wirklich traumhaft. Würden jederzeit wieder kommen! Vielen Dank an die Familie Morris für den tollen Aufenthalt.

[google translate]
We can really recommend the cottages. There was a very nice reception with scones and tea in our own cottage. The owners are very nice. The area is fantastic. There are good hiking possibilities and the lakes of the area are really fantastic. Would come again anytime! Many thanks to the family Morris for the great stay.

September 2019 - Moor
"Great location and accommodation".
The cottage complex is set in a beautiful part of Cornwall a few miles north of Bodmin. This was our first visit to Cornwall and we really enjoyed our stay at East Rose. Maddie the sheltie and Izzie the border collie especially loved the dog friendly beaches along the North West coast and enjoyed the morning walk round the East Rose Lakes and swimming in the River at Delford Bridge just 500 yards walk away.

August 2019 - Barn
This was the 2nd time we had stayed at East Rose and would highly recommend staying here. The properties are immaculate and the host Matthew Becky and Kids are amazing. The views and location are superb. Will definitely be going back one day.

August 2019 - Shippen
"Lovely cottage"
Shippen is a lovely 2 person cottage on East Rose Farm. It is one of 7 cottages. It’s really comfortable and has everything you need, and is very good value for money The hosts are lovely also, we had a cream tea in our cottage on arrival. It is located on Bodmin Moore near St Breward, this is a great location to explore most of Cornwall. Can’t think of a single negative, so very highly recommended, we will definitely come back again!

August 2019 - Moor
"Great little place"
Lovely place to stay. Quiet with short walk to moors. Nice clean little cottage with everything needed for cooking. Great little walk around the lakes on the land. Located central to the whole of Cornwall .

August 2019 - Shippen
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at East Rose. It is perfectly located for exploring North Cornwall.  Perfect setting, friendly people and the lakes are simply beautiful.

August 2019 - Stable
Quiet property ideally placed for all types of holiday. Easy access to both coastlines.  Everything went according to plan from arrival to departure

August 2019 - Moor
Fantastic place to stay.

August 2019 - Stable
"Tranquil"
We stayed in Stable Cottage which was perfect for the three of us and our dog. It was immaculately clean with everything we needed as well as being wonderfully cosy. The setting is wonderful. The scenery amazing and the cottage so peaceful and quiet we slept really well. Oh and the homemade lemon drizzle cake was delicious!

August 2019 - Moor
"Fantastic week at East Rose"
We have just returned from a week staying at East Rose. On arrival we where greeted by freshly baked scones and clotted cream/jam. impressed with our accommodation it was spotless, with amazing views over the moor. A lounge/kitchen was comfy and practical with lots of features you hope to find in a country cottage. Beams and 2 foot thick walls vaulted ceilings etc. The bedroom was spacious and had ample storage space a great double bed clock radio and bedside lamps. The shower room was modern and very clean. WiFi was available at no extra cost and we had no issues using it. Outside the garden where well maintained and had lots of places to sit and enjoy the setting and views, to walk all around the grounds and the fishing lakes would probably take a good 30 minutes as there is so much to see. The fishing itself was really enjoyable and I ended up going a few times for a couple of hours at a time and caught some quality fish in a really pleasant setting. We enjoyed our stay so much we booked again for next year. Highly recommended.

August 2019 - Mowhay
Had a lovely visit this time. Very pleased with Cottage, excellent and well appointed. Very comfortable. Will definitely be booking again

August 2019 - Moor
"Great place to stay"
Really enjoyed our stay. Very reasonably priced; host was very friendly and we enjoyed the home cooked foods, especially the cream tea on arrival. The cottage was well equipped and clean.

August 2019 - Moor
"Superb location, wonderful cottage and lovely hosts".
We stayed in Moor cottage with our dog Izzy and had a fantastic holiday, the peaceful location offers moors on the doorstep and beautiful beaches within 30 minutes, we explored castles, Bodmin prison, stone circles, waterfalls and woodlands as well as several beaches, well behaved dogs are very welcome at most places including most pubs, cafes etc. Moor cottage was very well equipped with everything you could want and very clean and cosy with a delicious cream tea waiting on arrival, the home baked food we ordered was truly scrumptious, the chocolate cake was very quickly devoured. We would definitely recommend staying at East Rose and would love to stay again ourselves, many thanks to Becky and Matthew for our excellent stay.

August 2019 - Rose
"Quiet and Relaxing"
If you’re looking for a quiet and peaceful stay in ideallic countryside - then this is the place to go. Cosy and comfortable cottage. Black out curtains + exceptionally comfortable bed = great night sleep Friendly hosts with the right balance of getting to know you but also leaving you to your own privacy Great home baked goods Loved waking up to the sound of sheep ! Really nice lakes to walk around Overall 5* NB our dog is very allergic to mosquito bites and I was a little worried about staying so close to lakes as to whether there would be large numbers of biting insects. Overnight she was in a mosquito net covered dog bed just to be safe but we didn’t get any bites at all, so no need to worry!!


August 2019 - Shippen
Accommodation was everything I expected.

July 2019 - Tamarisk
One of the best places we stayed on holiday must go again loved it.

July 2019 - Barn
"Fantastic as always"
We have been to East Rose Cottages several times now and each visit opens up new wonders and places to explore. A superb location where you will find peace and an opportunity to explore nature and the gem that is Bodmin moor. The accommodation and facilities as always are first class, and Matthew and Becky provide the perfect welcome and balance of support during the stay which makes it a truly fantastic holiday. Thoroughly recommend.

July 2019 - Shippen
"We recommend East Rose Farm Cottages in 1000%"
We loved to stay there. There was everything you needed. We came later than 5pm, and there was no problem. We met Becky and she was very nice :) We loved the lakes, the wild horses near cottages :). Just love everything about East Rose Farm Cottages. There is nothing bad to say about it :) Thank you very much :)

July 2019 - Tamarisk
Fantastic place. Calm and peaceful with a lot of nature to look out for. Owners very helpful and pleasant.

July 2019 - Mowhay
Very nice and friendly owner and very good pasty and cake. Stunning gardens and dogs are welcome. Definitely want to come back.

July 2019
Perfect setting, idyllic surroundings. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful

June 2019
Great cottages, awesome landscape. Friendly owners. Had an awesome time here. For you birdwatchers look out for the cuckoo, the Kingfishers among others. Great walks around the lakes. Recommended.

June 2019
Absolutely loved it , will go back

June 2019 - Stable
"A haven of peace and beauty!
This was our third time at East Rose and will definitely not be our last. With the stunning fishing lakes surrounding the cottage, the moors right on your doorstep, the ponies, and the delightful the Lank river, the location could not be more idyllic. Also perfect for visiting nearby iconic Cornish towns and beaches. The cottage was immaculate as always and Becky’s delicious egg and bacon pies, scones and lemon cake -provided at a reasonable price - waiting for us when we arrived, were much appreciated".

June 2019 - Moor
"Perfect relaxing getaway
We used the cottage as a base for exploring the local area but whether you plan to get out and about or just enjoy the surroundings you'll struggle to find a more relaxing location".

June 2019 - Rose
"Heaven!
Beautiful surrounding just a step from our cottage. Fishing lakes were stunning, peaceful and extremely clean! We got engaged by the lake on the first night of our stay! Becky and Matthew were lovely hosts. Would recommend to everyone! Greeted with a cream tea on arrival and everything you needed for our stay, including tea towels and toilet roll! Even the lane leading to their farm had sheep, horses, cows and a beautiful stream with a little bridge over. The whole place was just a piece of heaven. And William their son was enough to pull on anyone's heartstrings!"

June 2019 - Stable
"Paradise!
We have been visiting East Rose on and off since 2004 and love it. After living in a noisy, dirty town, it is as near to paradise as we can find. So peaceful and tranquil. We will continue to do so, as cannot think of going anywhere else".

May 2019 - Shippen
Thank you for a super week, and we really appreciate the trouble you took for us re the rare breeds, perhaps we will try the other place next year.  We would like to have the same week, same accommodation next year!

May 2019 - Stable
Comfy cottage in a lovely location.

May 2019 - Shippen
"Pretty Good
We have stayed at East Rose for over 20 years. This is the 6th cottage we have tried. Nothing wrong with the other five, just thought we would give this one a go. The Shippen was on arrival clean and tidy. (As was all the others). The scones were lovely. The cottage was light and airy with views towards Rough Tor. The owners were friendly but not intrusive and offered to help with the suitcases from the car. We have already booked Shippen for next year, which says a lot about the place. The whole site is restful and quiet. The best place to relax and unwind".

May 2019 - Rose
"Outstanding, well worth a visit"
East Rose is a fantastic pet friendly place to stay, with amazing views over Bodmin Moor. The property has five lakes and the surrounding area is teeming with nature. The area is very peaceful and quiet but close to small villages with village shops and pubs. The beach is within easy access too - around 30 minutes by car. Rose Cottage is very comfortable and well maintained and has everything you might need. On arrival, it was great to be met by Becky, Matthew and their children and good to know they were on hand if needed. They are very friendly and helpful. The Cottage was spotlessly clean and the delicious cream tea was much appreciated. This was our second stay at East Rose and we and our dog thoroughly enjoyed it. We can't wait to return. This outstanding property really is well worth a visit.

May 2019 - Mowhay
"Very relaxing and home from home"
The location is superb and lovely walks round the lakes and by the river. Mowhay is a very comfortable, warm and well equipped cottage and perfect for summer or autumn visits. Matthew and Becky are really friendly and make you feel very welcome and Becky bakes the best scones in the south west! I have already made a provisional booking which will be our fifth visit.

May 2019 - Stable
"Perfect peace"
We've stayed at East Rose "Stable" cottage 3 times now, we love it. It's clean and well maintained, and the surroundings so peaceful. Bodmin Moor is beautiful, and either coast is not far away. The surrounding countryside is so lovely in May and it's great to walk around the lakes in the early morning or evening. Becky's cakes and scones are amazing. It's just perfect for a peaceful, relaxing holiday.

May 2019 - Mowhay
"Another Fantastic week"
Wow another fab week at East Rose, perfect location, perfect hosts, have been coming twice a year for many years now and we are never disappointed. We come to craft and the light in the cottage is ideal with enough space for everything (it always looks like we have left home when we arrive) Owners cooking treats are very good and great value for money would highly recommend. The weather was very changeable but the moors are so beautiful in any light cant wait for my return trip.

May 2019 - Rose
"Peaceful and quiet"
We rented rose cottage and found it to be very clean and with everything we could need. The nature walk around the lakes is lovely with nicely kept pathways. We were met by Becky on arrival and shown to the cottage where there was a cream tea waiting for us. We will definitely be coming back next year.

April 2019 - Barn
"Fabulous family holiday"
We had a fantastic family holiday here. We had 4 of the 7 cottages and my whole family enjoyed really great quality time together. Lovely cottages with stunning views over the moors, a lovely cream tea on arrival and Becky couldn’t do enough to help us, Thank you

March 2019 - Shippen
"A perfect place on Bodmin Moor
Staying again at East Rose was such a pleasure. Matthew, Becky, Edward, and William are so welcoming and friendly, and couldn’t be more accommodating. They all made me feel right at home. The Shippen is my favorite cottage—clean, cozy, and well appointed, with great views out toward Brown Willy and Rough Tor. The property overall is beautiful, in a gorgeous setting, excellently maintained—a perfect place to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet. Also a good base to get out and explore all that Bodmin Moor has to offer. I am so glad I discovered East Rose, a very special place".

March 2019 - Mowhay
"Fantastic location, warm welcoming host - hidden Gem!"
We booked 5 nights stay here with our 4 year old and two miniature Daschunds. We couldn’t have been happier with this great little find. Secluded location with plenty of scenic spots, loved the little ponds out the back. Becky and Mathew are so welcoming and William and Edward so very charming ! Loved the cream tea waiting for us on arrival. Oh and Don’t forget to request some home cooking While you are there - sausage rolls were our favourite. Thank you for your hospitality. We will be back for sure Lots of best wishes Bhavna, Vikas and Rhea

March 2019 - Shippen
"Excellent hidden gem"
We have stayed here on several occasions over the last couple of years and couldn't recommend it enough. Lovely family run business, gorgeous peaceful location and clean pretty cottages.

March 2019 - Mowhay
"A week at Mowhay Cottage"
Mowhay cottage is set in East Rose complex which enjoys good views over the Moors and also the well kept grounds with lakes for walks and fishing. The cottage has all necessary facilities and is extremely well presented. A nice touch is the welcoming tea and scones. (Goodies being pasties/cakes etc can be ordered) The cottage has easy access to walks and beaches. Also good pub being The Old Inn about a mile away. Also very dog friendly. Matthew and Becky are extremely helpful should you need them.

March 2019 - Shippen
"Beautiful cosy cottage"
East Rose is very easy to get to, a 10 minute drive from the a30 and has an idyllic rural Moreland setting. It's so quiet! The cottage is lovely and the bed is very comfortable. Its a great base for walking and site seeing. We walked a long round trip from the cottage to rough tor and brown willy and also did some shorter walks to the pub! The pub does some good food (moorland grill!) We also did some day trips to the eden project, padstow and charlestown. The camel trail isnt too far away either. We'll definitely be staying again!

March 2019 - Moor
"Cornwall retreat"
Lovely stay, beautiful location and lovely people , would definitely stay again and recommend to my friends .

March 2019 - Moor
"Moor Charm
Having stayed in Shippen, Rose and, most recently, Moor Cottage, I can say they are equally appealing and welcoming. Moor Cottage is just charming, very cozy and well-appointed. The views out over Bodmin Moor are spectacular in all weather and at all times of day or evening. Becky, Matthew and their boys are fabulous hosts, gracious and accommodating. The surrounding property with its lakes and trails is beautifully maintained and ideal for fishing, relaxing, bird watching and just enjoying nature. East Rose is a special place I would return to again and again".

February 2019 - Rose
What a wonderful place, this was exactly what we were after. Beautiful scenery, very peaceful, lovely lakes to walk around, not to mention all the lovely moorland to venture onto just a stone throw away. The cottages were very well maintained and absolutely spotless clean. Matt and Rebecca were very welcoming and did everything they could to help with anything. We will certainly be back


2018 Reviews

October 2018 - Moor
The roads from the junction of the A30 to East Rose, is narrow, and must be driven carefully, but the views of Bodmin Moor, and the Tors make it all worth while. Our welcome at Eastrose was very warm, and well welcoming, and we were shown into Moor Cottage, which is a very solidly built granite stone terrace cottage. It is comfortably furnished, well decorated, and extremely well kept, and clean. Everything we needed for our stay was provided,( except towels ), and everything that was supposed to work, worked perfectly. The views from this property, high on Bodmin Moor are excellent in every direction, and it is so quiet. All in all we found East Rose the perfect base for our exploration of this part of Cornwall. Would we stay here again ? Definitely ! P.S. The complementary Devon Cream Tea provided by the owners was delicious.

October 2018 - Tamarisk
"Beautiful countryside, peace and tranquility.....
Warm welcome on arrival. Cottage was spotlessly clean and well equipped. Although it was quite nippy outside, the storage heaters kept us as warm as toast. Beautiful views across the moor. Even though we were not anglers, we enjoyed our walks around the immaculately maintained fishing lakes. The only minor minus point was that the beds were a bit on the hard side, but all-in-all excellent value for money and would certainly book here again".

September 2018 - Rose
"Super Basis für die Erkundung von Cornwall und Bodmin Moor
Die Unterkunft war toll, sowohl landschaftlich als auch bzgl. Ausstattung. Es ist zudem wunderbar ruhig und entspannend. Mir hat der 2-wöchige Aufenthalt sehr gut gefallen!"
(Translated using Google Translate) Great base for exploring Cornwall and Bodmin Moor. The accommodation was great, both landscaped as well as regarding equipment. It is also wonderfully quiet and relaxing. I liked the 2-week stay very much!

September 2018 - Stable
"The best place to stay"
We have been coming to East Rose for the last 16 years. That says something about the place. The setting is quiet and tranquil. Over that time we have stayed in four of the available cottages, but our favourite is Stable. The view from it is marvellous. It has plenty of room for us, a good layout, and is always clean, tidy and comfortable. The owners are always friendly and helpful - Becky’s home made cakes are a must have. Evenings sitting at one of the picnic benches overlooking the lakes with the tors in the background in the peace and quiet is one of the reasons that brings us back.

September 2018  - Barn
"Fantastic holiday location and accommodation"
This is the third time I have returned to this holiday complex and each time there is something new to discover. Previously having stayed in Stables Cottages we booked Barn due to larger numbers. As with the other cottages, Barn was immaculate, with excellent facilities and very spacious. Barn was exemplary in respect to creating the perfect holiday experience and represents excellent value for money. To be fair, I feel for the provisions and location, the owners would be very justified in charging more than they actually do. Most of all though, I must acknowledge the kindness, authenticity and generosity of both Matthew and Becky. They were very understanding, accepting and accommodating which is just fantastic. I have no hesitation in recommending this venue apart from, the more popular it becomes, the harder it might be to book a vacancy 🙂

September 2018 - Tamarisk
We have been staying at East Rose for the last 3 years and will be returning again next year. Beautiful surroundings. The kids Love coming and are always so excited to return. They love the lakes and the river just down the road. Seeing the sheep, cows and ponies free on the Moores they adore. The cottage is excellent and everything you need for a family holiday. Fantastic location to be able to explore cornwall.

September 2018 - Rose
"Perfect accommodation for exploring Cornwall & Bodmin Moor"
For a 14-days holiday in Cornwall East Rose was the perfect base! The cottage was lovely, everything necessary was there. The surroundings with the lakes and the Moor are great, also for walks / hikes. Also it is wonderfully quiet and peaceful - excellent for relaxing!

August 2018 - Moor
"Excellent cottage for two plus dog
Very peaceful and comfortable. A really lovely location for rocket our cavalier. The sandy area by the bridge is just a short troll away and he loved it there, just like a beach but clean water".


August 2018 - Stable
"Excellent stay at East Rose
We had a smashing family holiday at East Rose. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The place was clean and set around some stunning views, complete with its own lake. I'd highly recommend this for a perfect and peaceful holiday".

August 2018 - Barn
"Perfect and dog friendly
Bodmin was a central cottage to visit Padstow, Fowey, Truro and many more attractions very quiet could hear a pin drop and very relaxing".


August 2018 - Rose
"Loved it!"

August 2018 - Barn
"We had a lovely stay with the hosts very welcoming and the facilities great. Our children had a fab time both on the premises and cycling over the moor. The cream tea on arrival was a nice touch. The only thing we would change is the pay washing machine. We appreciate its only £2 per load but in the grand scheme I suspect this could be covered by the rental fee? Thanks for a great week".

August 2018 - Shippen
"Friendly welcome, outstanding clean facilities, location is good if you want to fish or want to explore Cornwall but is not ideally located to pop out for an ice cream etc, having said that the location is beautiful and quiet with only the odd sheep to be heard. I loved that our dog was welcome and the bed was super comfy. Added bonus of free WiFi was welcomed as there is literally no signal! Absolutely loved the complementary cream tea on arrival too!!"

August 2018 - Shippen
"A lovely farm house within an easy distance from a lot of local attractions. Very peaceful and the hosts (Matthew & Becky) were lovely people and would gladly help out with anything you needed or wanted to know. We would really recommend staying here 10/10 Thank you for a lovely holiday". 

August 2018 - Tamarisk
"Summer Holiday
Fantastic family holiday. East Rose offered us peace and quiet with beautiful scenery but perfectly situated for a short drive to numerous beaches. We are already thinking of booking for 2019".

August 2018 - Mowhay
"Had and excellent holiday here.  Location was spot on. And cottage exceeded our expectations would defo recommend".

July 2018 - Rose
"Wonderful cottage it had everything we needed and more. The fresh scones were very welcoming on arrival. Set on 17 acres with beautiful walkways around their ponds, it was quiet and peaceful, with the only sounds being birds and sheep. It was a perfect base for the week as we explored Cornwall. Thank you Becky and Matthew for making our visit to Cornwall so relaxing".

July 2018 - Barn
"Oasis of tranquility
Immaculately kept cottage and grounds. We loved the quiet beautiful surroundings and strolled around the lakes most evenings. It was lovely to have scrumptious pre-ordered goodies waiting for us as well".

July 2018 - Rose
"schöne Zeit im Bodmin Moor
Niedliches, kleines sauberes Cottage in bezaubernder Lage von sehr freundlichen und hilfsbereiten Vermietern!

[google translate]
Nice time in Bodmin Moor
Cute little clean cottage in a charming location by very friendly and helpful landlords!"

July 2018 - Barn
"Great stay at a fabulous location with welcoming attentive hosts.  The Barn was comfortable and was a welcome retreat post some lovey days out".

July 2018 - Shippen
"There is nothing bad I can say about Shippen Cottage or the people that own it.  Made very welcome on arrival.  Well set out area.  The fishing is great and peaceful with picnic areas for the family.  Will definitely go back and recommend".

July 2018 - Moor
"Matthew and Becky where wonderful hosts and went out of there way to help my wife and I.  The cottage was as good as we expected from the images on the website, the views are amazing and plenty of good clean air.  Cannot ask for more".

June 2018 - Rose
"A Lovely Cottage
We thought that the cottage was in an excellent location, very quiet and relaxing.  The kitchen was very well equipped with everything that we needed and the whole cottage was warm and cosy.  We enjoyed our stay very much".

June 2018 - Shippen
"We had a wonderful holiday in Shippen East Rose.  For a one bedroom cottage it was surprisingly spacious.  The location was stunning on the edge of Bodmin Moor within easy access to North and South Cornwall.  Becky and Matthew were friendly and helpful and the cream tea awaiting us on arrival was lovely.  The fishing lakes were very well maintained and a treat to walk around.  Our dog was made welcome so all in all a great success".

June 2018 - Mowhay
"We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the level of accommodation, the cleanliness, attention to detail, the area, we even had a cream tea waiting for us as well as ordering brilliant weather.  Overall this was one of the best relaxing holidays we have had in a long time". 

June 2018 - Rose
"Wonderful cottage it had everything we needed and more.  The fresh scones were very welcoming on arrival.  Set on 17 acres with beautiful walkways around their ponds, it was quiet and peaceful, with the only sounds being birds and sheep.  It was a perfect base for the week as we explored Cornwall.  Thank you Becky and Matthew for making our visit to Cornwall so relaxing".

June 2018 - Mowhay
"This was a fantastic surprise as we were expecting far less for our money.  The owners were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.  The accommodation was excellent  We had a fabulous week even the sun was shining.  We will definitely return possibly this year if we can get in". 

May 2018 - Moor
"Enjoyed my break, nothing too much trouble for the hosts, and it was lovely to wander around and sit by the lakes".

May 2018 - Tamarisk
"Had another excellent stay at East Rose.  Took our daughter and partner with us.  They loved it!  As usual Matthew and Becky were excellent hosts.  Would recommend staying here as it is an amazing place!  Looking forward to next time".

May 2018 - Stable
"Perfect for a get away from it all break
This is the second year we have stayed in Stable, it is clean and comfortable, and well maintained.  Matthew and Becky are very welcoming.  There are lovely walks around the lakes and the surrounding moor, and not too far from the coast.  If peace and quiet are what you need, thsi is the place to stay".

May 2018 - Shippen
"Met and exceeded our expectations.
Comfortable, cosy and quiet.  Fishing good, very peaceful.  Good base for touring.  Owners (and children) are very helpful.  That's why we are returning next year".

May 2018 - Mowhay
"We have stayed in Mowhay a couple of times.  It is situated with lovely views over Bodmin Moor and Delphy bridge, and various animals as neighbours.  Mowhay is a very well equipped cottage and very clean.  The area around the cottage is kept very neat and tidy with lovely walks around the lakes, fishing available for those who enjoy it.  It is also easy to get to the Camel Trail or beaches.  Becky and Matthew are always there to help out but also leave you to enjoy your holiday.  A nice touch when you arrive are scones and jam - delicious.  I also loved Lemon Drizzle cake which you can order along with other goodies".

April 2018 - Moor
"Home from home, everything you need, fantastic views, beautiful grounds
The location was perfect, Bodmin at its best.  Local villages interesting with lovely pubs.  Great walks and superb dog friendly beaches especially Perranporth and Watergate Bay.  Conveniently situated for both north and south Cornwall - being only 5 min drive from the A30 - even though cottages are rural and peaceful.  Becky and Matthew are really friendly and the home cooked food on offer was very tasty.  The cottage has everything you need with fully equipped kitchen and modern bathroom with great shower.  I would happily stay there again".

March 2018 - Mowhay
"Mowhay at East Rose comfortably exceeded all our expectations
Overlooking the famously picturesque Delphi Bridge, East Rose enjoys an unspoilt panorama over Bodmin moor.  Mowhay Cottage itself provided the four of us with spacious, clean and tidy accommodation for the 6 nights of our stay, which comfortably exceeded all our expectations and requirements.  Becky's welcoming cream teas on arrival were much appreciated, as were the home-made pasties and cake that followed.  Both Matthew and Becky were also keen to ensure that we had all we wanted, even though they'd evidently anticipated everything.  The village of St Breward is conveniently nearby and well served by an excellent pub and well stocked stores.  East Rose also proved to be an ideal base for our trips to Wadebridge, Rock and Polzeath on the North coast, and to Fowey on the South.  The house and gardens at Pencarrow, between Wadebridge and Bodmin, also proved to be a very worthwhile place to visit.  Very happy to recommend East Rose as an excellent place to stay; we'll be looking to return on our next visit to Cornwall".


2017 Reviews

August 2017 - Tamarisk
"Excellent
Recently stayed at East Rose cottage Tamarisk, would highly recommend for anyone who wishes to have relaxing and peaceful holiday. The cottage is very clean in a nice country side. Becky and Matthew extremely helpful and friendly. We had scones and cream tea on arrival and that was lovely especially after 7 hours’ drive. Home-made treats at East Rose is a must to order! We had a great week even though the weather wasn’t great but free fishing on site saved our holiday, our son Lukas really enjoyed it. Wi-Fi was excellent, probably the best one we have had in any of the holiday cottages over the years. We would certainly stay there again".


July 2017 - Tamarisk. 
"Wunderschöner Ort zum Entspannen / Wonderful place to relax
Wir waren zum zweiten Mal in East Rose. Die Ferienwohnung war perfekt für uns als Familie mit zwei Kids 15 und 16. Matthew und Becky super freundlich und hilfsbereit. Zum Willkommen gab es Creamtea. Die komplette Anlage (auch bei Anglern sehr beliebt) ist sehr gepflegt und sehr ruhig, genau der richtige Ort zum Entspannen und Entschleunigen. Von dort konnten wir in alle Richtungen Cornwall erkunden. Wir werden dort nicht zum letzten Mal gewesen sein. Aber auch vor Ort gibt es einiges zum Entdecken. Wo sonst gibt es Wildpferde, Schafe, Hasen und Longhorns die in freier Natur herumlaufen. Natur pur und unglaubliche Landschaft.

[Google translate - We stayed for the second time in East Rose. The apartment was perfect for us as a family with two kids 15 and 16. Matthew and Becky were super friendly and helpful. To the welcome there was Creamtea. The entire complex (also very popular with anglers) is very well maintained and very quiet, just the right place to relax and decelerate. From there we could explore Cornwall in all directions. We will not be there for the last time. But also on site there is a lot to discover. Where else there are wild horses, sheep, hares and longhorns running around in the wild. Pure nature and incredible scenery".


July 2017 - Shippen
"Cosy cottage in secluded location with fishing
Situated high on Bodmin Moor within sight of Brown Willy yet within easy reach of much of Cornwall. Fairly basic but very clean and comfortable and well-equipped. Delightful owners on hand who provided a lovely cream tea on arrival. Good coarse fishing on 5 lakes within walking distance".


July 2017 - Mowhay
"Another relaxing week
We are regular visitors to East Rose and always look forward to returning. We have stayed in several of the Cottages over the years, this time we chose Mowhay which we found to be comfortable, spacious and very well equipped and as always spotlessly clean. There is a small selection of books – should you forget to bring one. The cottages are in a perfect spot for enjoying peace, quiet and tranquillity. We particularly enjoy the cream tea that awaits us in the cottage on our arrival - after our long drive. There is a very pleasant well maintained and well stocked lake complex for those that like to do a bit of fishing. Matthew and Becky are always most helpful and nothing is too much trouble, the whole holiday set up is a credit to them and their hard work. We will be back next year".

July 2017 - Barn
"Peace, Tranquility and Wildlife
We have previously stayed in Tamarisk and recently The Barn, both of which are very comfortable indeed. Kitchens large enough to cook proper home cooked food using all those fresh and lovely local ingredients although there are plenty of places to eat quite locally. The grounds and lakes are immaculate and wildlife is in abundance. The property is on top of the moor and benefits from its very own microclimate so everything is lush and green with wild flowers growing in every space. Surrounding the property you will find plenty of grazing sheep, cows and horses, roaming free but within the cattle grids so you wont find one in your cottage. Its also a very good base to visit anywhere in Cornwall. The owners are very helpful when you arrive and if you need them, Cream Tea on arrival, what more could you want.   Thank You to Matthew & Becky".

June 2017 - Rose
"Brilliant holiday cottages
We have stayed in Rose several times in the past few years and feel like its home from home. There's everything you could need in the cottage. Mathew & Becky are excellent hosts and make you feel welcome. Need to know anything, ask".


June 2017 - Rose
"Excellent Place to Stay!
My Wife and I have stayed at East Rose many times over the last 10yrs. It has all ways been a brilliant place to stay. Mathew has all ways made us feel welcome. We have stayed in several of the holiday homes and they have all been great! If you want peace ,quiet and wonderful scenery this is the place for you".


May 2017 - Rose
"Absolutely wonderful
We came for a week, 20th May 2017, it is amazing. Total tranquility. Better than all expectations. No noise of traffic or light pollution, all you can hear is the wildlife, even heard a cuckoo. Will definitely be back. Dogs had a wonderful time - do have to be on leads though due to livestock, but they were quite content".


May 2017 - Tamarisk
"Well equipped cottage in a perfect location.
We're just back from a fabulous week at East Rose. Our cottage was very comfortable and had everything we needed. Chris enjoyed the fishing and spent many hours enjoying the lakes. The countryside was beautiful and we enjoyed long walks on the moor. The local pub, the Old Inn in St Breward, is worth a visit. We had several lovely meals and a cream tea there. We have booked another week at East Rose next year".


May 2017 - Mowhay
"Peace and quiet.
Mowhay cottage is a well equipped holiday cottage. Cream tea on arrival. Spotlessly clean. The grounds and lakes are beautifully kept and provide some enjoyable fishing. Plenty to see and do within the surrounding area.. You just need to be lucky with the weather...And we were!"


May 2017 - Barn
"A fantastic place to stay. The location is amazing. Great Cottage and views.
We stayed at East Rose Barn Cottage for a short break. Next time it will definitely be for a longer stay. East Rose is set in beautiful scenery on Bodmin Moor and the setting around the lakes is wonderfull - a haven for wildlife and tranquility with fabulous views and walks. Becky and Matt made every effort to make our visit an enjoyable one and were on hand if needed. Delicious cream tea on arrival! The cottage was warm and cosy with very good amenities. There is a local, friendly pub nearby - we managed to walk to it in about twenty minutes. We are very much looking forward to our return to Barn Cottage and East Rose. Thank you so much, Becky and Matt, for a fantastic stay".


May 2017 - Stable
"Ideal location for a get away from it all relaxing break.
East Rose is ideally located on the edge of Bodmin Moor and is perfect for a relaxing break as well as still being close to the main tourist locations of north Cornwall. On arrival we were met by Becky who gave us a very warm welcome. The Stable cottage was very much to our liking and well equipped. The cottages are in an excellent location just a hundred yard from the lakes and nature trails. Matt provided excellent advice as far as the fishing was concerned. We will definitely be booking up to stay again"
.

May 2017 - Tamarisk
"Another great stay at East Rose.
I have been visiting Cornwall for about 5 years now, and every time I have stayed at East Rose.  Stayed in Tamarisk cottage with friends over the easter bank holiday.  As always the cottage was clean and cosy!  We had scones, jam and clotted ream on arrival which is always a nice touch.  We did arrive quite late, but this was no problem for Matthew and Becky.  This feels like a second home when you stay here.  You really can just escape from everything and relax, all down to the peaceful setting on the Moor, and the cosiness of the cottages.  Thank you for another wonderful stay".

April 2017 - Barn and Tamarisk
"What a find!
Nine of our rambling group stayed in Barn Cottage and Tamarisk Cottage to walk The Copper Trail around Bodmin Moor. What an idylic place to stay. If you want to get away from it all this is the place to come, you go back to the days before the rat race really kicked in. There's a lovely walk around the fishing lakes and the cool fresh air to wake up to every morning, we even had a resident cuckoo every morning, and to see the dark sky and all the stars at night makes you realise how much light pollution we have. Both the cottages were well provided for well maintained and a pleasure to stay at. We all really enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back again".

April 2017 - Mowhay
"Fantastic.
This was my third visit and will definitely be going again.  Fabulous location on Bodmin Moor.  Cottages are great.  Warm welcome from Matthew and Becky and nothing was too much trouble.  East Rose is a great destination for a peaceful holiday but not too far from amenities.  The lakes are goregous and very well kept".


April 2017 - Moor
"Lovely and peaceful.
What a lovely place to stay.  The grounds and surrounding country side are beautiful, and there is so much to do within a short drive.  The owners Matthew and Becky were so friendly and helpful with everything; and their little boy is a delight as well!  We took our dog with us, and they are really accommodating - fantastic walks around and The Camel Trail too!  Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay in Cornwall".


April 2017 - Stable
"Even better than previously.
Ours was a repeat visit; we have stayed here several times in the recent past and have rented three different cottages.  East Rose is located on the moor without close neighbours so you really appreciate the quality of the landscape and the wildlife.  However, it is close enough to a pub that does excellent food and only five minutes drive away (The Old Inn, St Breward).  A quiet and peaceful location yet with ready access to most of Cornwall's popular destinations. Tamarisk has had a shower room and bathroom refit since our last visit demonstrating the owners attention to detail as we did not think it needed doing when we stayed last year.  The fact that there is good fishing on site adds to the attraction and with the picnic facilities certainly makes a good venue for a family holiday". 


March 2017 - Shippen
"Bodmin Moor at its Best.
My East Rose experience was just exceptional.  The owners, Matthew and Becky, could not have been more cordial or accommodating - they were a joy to meet.  Shippen Cottage was cozy and comfortable, plenty spacious, with clean, bright rooms equipped with pretty much everything one could need.  The overall property was immaculately kept, with beautiful views, picnic areas, and multiple lakes for fishing or just relaxing in the peace and quiet.  The surrounding area is breathtakingly beautiful, with many walks around the moor, from your doorstep.  So glad I just happened to land on this rental and booked - definitely look forward to staying here again".

February 2017 - Mowhay
"Dog friendly Winter Break
We have stayed at East Rose for 16 consecutive years, Owners are vey friendly and helpful. The whole of the East Rose grounds including the lakes are kept to a high standard. We have also stayed in two of the other cottages and each one has been outstanding. The welcoming scones, jam and tea on the table is a very welcoming site after a long journey it just gives you that nice start to your holiday. A great place to walk from over the moors or to travel and see Cornwall".

February 2017 Mowhay / Barn
"Charming Moorland Cottage
This is the third time we have stayed at East Rose, twice in The Barn and once in The Mowhay. Both excellent accommodations, comfortable and well equipped. Having had a couple of lengthy stays I have really appreciated the onsite laundry. Matthew & Becky are always on hand if you need anything and nothing is too much trouble. We will definitely look forward to many more stays".

 

Call us on 01208 850674

East Rose, St Breward, Bodmin, Cornwall PL30 4NL